NEWS: New Jeff Beck live CD preview!

The new Jeff Beck live CD, ‘Jeff Beck: Performing Live This Week At Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club,’ will be released on November 25 on Eagle Records. Especially exciting is the news that the CD will be followed up with a DVD in 2009.

Fun fact: Jeff Beck’s ‘Blow By Blow’ album was one of the very first CDs I ever bought (I think it was purchased after a Black Sabbath best-of and before a Racer X CD – I had ecclectic tastes for a 12 year old).

I’ll post a review some time soon, but in the meantime, CLICK HERE for a stream of the first single, ‘Cause We’ve Ended As Lovers.’

Here’s the press release: 
Eagle Records Set To Release


~On CD November 25~

New York, NY (October 20, 2008)—Eagle Records, the wholly-owned subsidiary of Eagle Rock Entertainment, will release on November 25 a sensational live album from Jeff Beck: Performing This Week Live At Ronnie Scott’s Jazz Club. A new Jeff Beck release is always an event and these concerts in particular are eagerly awaited by his fans.

Jeff Beck is a true rock legend. From his time with The Yardbirds in the ‘60s, through The Jeff Beck Group and his solo career, his unique guitar style and constant desire to explore new musical sounds have won him the admiration of peers, critics and fans alike.

This sterling ’07 live gig at the famed British jazz club Ronnie Scott’s in London features the legendary guitarist in a 16-song career-spanning set that incorporates Rock, Jazz, Ballads, Beatles, Blues, Boogie and Bolero. Beck raved it up so much with bassist Tal Wilkenfeld, drummer Vinnie Colaiuta and keyboardist Jason Rebello that the usually sedate London Times gushed, “…perhaps the greatest living guitar virtuoso…combining astonishing technique with a blissful nuance he exercised an almost supernatural control of his fretboard.” Jazzwise called it “an absolutely jaw-dropping display of the most exciting, imaginative and inspirational jazz-rock guitar witnessed in years.” And London Lite added, “…the kind of visceral, fluid music-making that other guitarists can only dream of.”

Recorded over a series of gigs with standing-room-only crowds, the electricity was bouncing off the walls as Beck was clearly inspired himself and egged on by the perfect complement of band mates. A DVD of the event, the first such live concert DVD as authorized by Jeff Beck, will be available in 2009.

Track Listing
1) Beck’s Bolero
2) Eternity’s Breath
3) Stratus
4) ‘Cause We’ve Ended As Lovers
5) Behind The Veil
6) You Never Know
7) Nadia
8) Blast From The East
9) Led Boots
10) Angels (Footsteps)
11) Scatterbrain
12) Goodbye Pork Pie Hat/Bush With The Blues
13) Space
14) Big Block
15) A Day In The Life
16) Where Were You

CLICK HERE to buy Jeff Beck’s ‘Performing This Week…Live At Ronnie Scotts’ from