NEWS: New Dream Theater album title, cover, details

Fellow prog geeks rejoice! The new Dream Theater album is called ‘Black Clouds & Silver Linings’ and it will be released on June 23 on Roadrunner Records.

In addition to the standard-version CD, there will also be a vinyl LP and a three-disc, special-edition CD that will include the full album, a CD of instrumental mixes of the album and a CD of six cover songs, the titles of which will be revealed at a later date.

Six weeks prior to the June 23 street date, Roadrunner will release one cover song per week through digital retailers. A video for the first single, ‘A Rite of Passage,’ will be shot in late March.

‘Black Clouds & Silver Linings’ was produced by drummer Mike Portnoy and guitarist John Petrucci, and it was mixed by Paul Northfield.

The track listing is:

01. A Nightmare to Remember
02. A Rite of Passage
03. Wither
04. The Shattered Fortress
05. The Best of Times
06. The Count of Tuscany

Here’s a 1-minute teaser from the Eddie Trunk show.