Man 2009 is shaping up to be an awesome year for bands I like. Killer new CDs by Queensryche, Heaven & Hell, Devin Townsend, Dream Theater, not to mention the monstrous debut of Chickenfoot. But aside from the new Alice In Chains, the one I’m most looking forward to is the new Living Colour CD, The Chair In The Doorway. You can download ‘Behind The Sun,’ a new track from the album, at iLike for free right now.

“Behind The Sun”, a new song from LIVING COLOUR, is available for free download at this location. The track comes off the band’s first new studio album in five years, entitled “The Chair In The Doorway”, which is due on September 15 via Megaforce Records.

“The Chair In The Doorway” was written and recorded at Sono Studios outside of Prague in the Czech Republic during the fall of 2008 and spring of 2009. The results stretch from the modern soul anthem “Behind The Sun” to the politically-charged, heavy rock of “DecaDance” to the sacred steel blues of “Bless Those”.

“We feel like this is the best record we’ve made yet and we couldn’t be more excited to be releasing it with the legendary Megaforce Records,” says guitarist Vernon Reid. “Some of our favorite bands were or are Megaforce artists — METALLICA, BAD BRAINS, ANTHRAX, BLACK CROWES — so it’s an honor to be part of a label with a great legacy.”

Having helped to pave the way for a number of contemporary African-American artists to follow in their wake, ranging from RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE to LENNY KRAVITZ to BEN HARPER, with a multi-dimensional sound that drew equally from JIMI HENDRIX, BAD BRAINS, TALKING HEADS and ORNETTE COLEMAN, the success of LIVING COLOUR broke down the color barriers in rock music. Guitarist and founding member Vernon Reid also founded the Black Rock Coalition to use his influence to further this cause.

Discovered by Mick Jagger who produced their first demo and later offered them an opening slot with THE ROLLING STONES, LIVING COLOUR would go on to create a repertoire that includes a multitude of classic songs, including “Cult Of Personality”, “Elvis Is Dead”, “Open Letter To A Landlord”, “Glamour Boys” and “Love Rears Its Ugly Head”. With “The Chair In The Doorway”, the fifth album of the band’s storied career, LIVING COLOUR expands the scope of its timeless body of work and, in the process, proves vital as ever.

“The Chair In The Doorway” track listing:

01. Burned Bridges
02. The Chair
03. DecaDance
04. Young Man
05. Method
06. Behind The Sun
07. Bless Those
08. Hard Times
09. Taught Me
10. Out Of Mind
11. Not Tomorrow