INTERVIEW: Satchel of Steel Panther

The Kramer Pacer, Satchel's weapon of choice. Click the pic for more info.

Okay, I can assure you this is not an April Fools joke. This morning I interviewed the inimitable Satchel of the mighty Steel Panther for You can read the full interview here, but here’s a snippet.

How’s the new album coming along?

It’s been killer. We decided to record this album in five-song chunks. We picked our top five songs that we liked, then we picked our next five, then we picked our [expletive]-iest songs at the end. So far we’ve got 10 recorded and we’re doing the vocals on the last five right now. It sounds awesome and I’m not just saying that because I’m usually high on Oxycontin when I’m listening to it.

Any titles you can give away yet?

I think some of the titles are floating around in cyberspace. We performed one of the songs live. It’s called “Critter.” It’s about having sex with a girl.

NEWS: Secret Van Halen reunion abandoned over money squabbles

April 1, 2011 (Los Angeles) – A planned 20th anniversary tour to commemorate Van Halen’s 1991 For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge album was scuttled earlier this year after a key band member dropped out of negotiations, according to an insider familiar with the situation.

The source tells I Heart Guitar that Eddie Van Halen was hoping to mount the tour with all key album contributors reinstated, but that the cordless drill that kicked off album opener ‘Poundcake’ was unable to settle on contract terms and remuneration.

The drill found its way into ‘Poundcake’s intro and solo section after Van Halen noticed that the sound of its motor was being transmitted to his amplifier when he placed it close to his guitar’s pickups.

“It all came down to money and creative control – you know the drill,” the source said, adding that the power tool requested its own luxury tour bus, a nightly bowl of lug nuts with the hexagonal ones taken out, and a 15-minute unaccompanied solo spot in between “Pleasure Dome” and “The Dream Is Over.” The drill also requested to be an equal partner in all past and future earnings of the group.

Although the drill was featured prominently on the For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge tour, it was replaced on subsequent tours by a lookalike. The source revealed that this drill was the son of Alex Van Halen’s cordless drill. “Eddie thought nobody would really hear any difference, but the die-hards just couldn’t accept another drill. They wanted the one that had been there at the beginning,” the source said.

Bass player Mike Anthony refused to participate in the reunion if the drill was not involved. Vocalist Sammy Hagar reportedly said “If Mike’s out, I’m out.”

The drill was last seen auditioning for Mr. Big.

NEWS: Wesfest 6 raises $20,000 for Wes Wehmiller Scholarship Fund

Awesome news.





6th annual event continues tradition of musical excellence

and fundraising success

BOSTON (March 31, 2011) — WesFest 6, the sixth annual WesFest benefit concert, took place at The Roxy in Los Angeles on February 27, 2011. For the third consecutive year, the event and related fundraising drive raised more than $20,000 for the Wes Wehmiller Endowed Scholarship Fund at Berklee College of Music. The total amount generated by WesFest since its inception in 2006 has now exceeded $90,000, and is projected to top $100,000 in 2012.

Officially supported this year by corporate sponsors Mike Lull Custom Bassesand D’Addario, the WesFest concert series has established the Wes Wehmiller Scholarship as one of the leading awards given by Berklee College Of Music. Established by Wes’ family and friends in 2005, the Wes Wehmiller Scholarship is awarded annually to a continuing student at Berklee who best exemplifies the excellence and grace Wehmiller showed as a bassist and as a human being. TheWesFest concert series serves as the centerpiece for a continuing fundraising drive for the scholarship fund, which honors the legacy of Wehmiller, a Berklee graduate (‘92) and highly accomplished bassist, athlete, and photographer who died of thyroid cancer in January, 2005.

Read More …

COOL VIDEO ALERT: Duff McKagan’s Loaded – Dead Skin

Eagle Rock Entertainment will release The Taking, a brand new studio album fromDuff McKagan’s Loaded on vinyl (April 12) and CD (April 19).

McKagan once again takes front and center on lead vocals and guitars. Long time Loaded members Jeff Rouse (bassist) and Mike Squires (guitar) return along with drummer Isaac Carpenter who joined in late 2009.

Recorded by Terry Date (Soundgarden, Avenged Sevenfold), the album follows the band’s 2009 debut Sick. A feature-length film, The Taking (in the style of A Hard Day’s Night crossed with The Song Remains The Same), is due this summer.

“This record really sort of took a life of its’ own, and the songs really revealed themselves to us as we went along,” says Duff. “Terry Date came into the picture at a time when his genius ear helped to capture a sonic theme for the record. You can’t underestimate what a guy like TD brings to the table. The Taking is the closest thing to a ‘concept’ record that I have ever been involved with. Pain, loss, triumph, and redemption. Life. Bring it.”
The Taking track listing:
01. “Lords of Abaddon”
02. “Executioner’s Song”
03. “Dead Skin”
04. “We Win”
05. “Easier Lying”
06. “She’s An Anchor”
07. “Indian Summer”
08. “Wrecking Ball”
09. “King Of The World”
10. “Cocaine”
11. “Your Name”
12. “Follow Me To Hell”

For more information, visit