Original Metallica line-up members return for one night only!

IK Multimedia's MODO BASS

Photo from @josemangin‘s Twitter:

Woo! So I hoped it’d happen but I didn’t dare dream. Metallica reunited with original bass player Ron McGovney, lead guitarist Dave Mustaine and – whoa! – even original guitarist Lloyd Grant at the last of their 30th anniversary shows at the Fillmore in San Francisco! This is an even bigger deal than the Big 4 shows!

The original Metallica members weren’t the only special guests at the show though. Bob Rock played a few St Anger songs with the band, then Metallica were joined by Black Sabbath bass player Geezer Butler for “Sabbra Cadabra” before Ozzy joined them too for “Iron Man” and “Paranoid.” Then Jason Newstead jumped up for a few songs including “King Nothing” (one of my favourites even though it was from Load) and “Whiplash.” Then Hugh Tanner from James Hetfield’s pre-Metallica band Leather Charm rocked out on “Motorbreath.” Then Mustaine joined the band for “Phantom Lord,” “Jump In The Fire” and “Metal Militia.” Grant and McGovney joined Mustaine and Metallica for “Hit The Lights,” then Newstead, Tanner, Death Angel’s Mark Osegueda and the Soul Rebels” hopped up for a show-closing “Seek & Destroy.”

Other guests to join Metallica over the past few 30th anniversary shows included Jerry Cantrell, Pepper Keenan, Glenn Danzig, Jim Martin, Animal from Anti Nowhere League, Lou Reed, Kid Rock, Armoured Saint/Anthrax’s John Bush (who was the band’s first choice as original vocalist), Mercyful Fate, Joey Vera, Scott Ian, Marianne Faithful, John Marshall, Diamond Head’s Sean Harris and Brian Tatler, and Judas Priest’s Rob Halford. Whoa.

Check out the full set lists from the four shows here and here and here and here.

From DaveMustaine‘s Twitter:

Left to right: Lars Ulrich, Dave Mustaine, Lloyd Grant, Robert Trujillo, James Hetfield, Kirk Hammett, Ron McGovney.