NAMM 2009: What were your favourites?

I’m sure there will still be a few NAMM 2009 press releases filtering through for the next week or so (I’ll be adding a bunch of new stories tonight), but now that the bulk of NAMM news is in, what are your personal highlights from this year’s new gear?

If you wanna refresh your memory, you can see all my NAMM coverage by clicking THIS LINK.

Here are the things I’m most stoked about:

Peavey 3120
Mesa Boogie Mark 5
Carvin Legacy II

Ibanez Paul Gilbert Airplane Flanger
Eventide Pitch Factor
Vox Joe Satriani Big Bad Wah
New RJM switchers

ESP James Hetfield Iron Cross
Ibanez RG1527M maple-fretboard 7-string
Ibanez PGM100 reissue
EVH Wolfgang

By the way, anybody else notice that there was no big Dave Mustaine/Marshall announcement? Dave’s been talking for months about a new signature Marshall product, and there are various rumours that it’s either a variant of the JVM series head, a rackmountable JVM preamp, or even a new MIDI tube preamp to fill the gap left by the discontinued JMP-1. I’ve contacted Dave to see if he can shed any light on the story, and I’ll report back if I hear from him.

NEWS: Metallica confirms Guitar Hero Metallica

Metallica continues their association with the Guitar Hero franchise (remember the reports that the Guitar Hero mix of Death Magnetic sounds way better than the CD version?), with the announcement of Guitar Hero Metallica.

In a statement on the Metallica website, the band says:

Yes, we know, it’s the worst kept secret in rock-n-roll but we’re here now to finally confirm that there will indeed be an all-Metallica Guitar Hero game released in the first half (!?) of 2009.

Guitar Hero Metallica allows you to play as us in either single instrument or band career game modes in your choice of some famous settings (Tushino Airfield anyone?) or new venues with in the round staging.

Included are 28 Metallica songs along with a few from some of our buddies like as Alice in Chains, the Foo Fighters, Slayer, Machine Head and Queen. There is also an all new Expert+ difficulty setting featuring two bass drum kick pedals (!!!) along with all the gameplay modes from Guitar Hero World Tour.

Over the next few months, we’re going to be updating you with track listings, more features, of course how and when you can get the game, and some cool previews of the game right here on the site. As you’ve heard us say before, keep checking back for more details!

According to Blabbermouth, the track listing will include:


* “Enter Sandman”
* “For Whom The Bell Tolls”
* “Fuel”
* “Hit The Lights”
* “King Nothing”
* “Master of Puppets”
* “No Leaf Clover”
* “Nothing Else Matters”
* “Sad But True”
* “The Unforgiven”
* “Where I May Roam”

Songs by other artists:

* “No Excuses” by ALICE IN CHAINS
* “Turn The Page” by BOB SEGER
* “Hell Bent For Leather” by JUDAS PRIEST
* “Demon Cleaner” by KYUSS
* “Tuesdays Gone” by LYNYRD SKYNYRD
* “Blood and Thunder” by MASTODON
* “Armed and Ready” by MICHAEL SCHENKER GROUP
* “Mother of Mercy” by SAMHAIN
* “Black River” by THE SWORD
* Additional songs from FOO FIGHTERS, QUEEN and SLAYER

How cool would it be if the game was available with Metallica-inspired guitar controllers including Hetfield’s ESP Iron Cross and Kirk Hammett’s ouija board ESP KH-II?

So what songs would you like to see included? Hopefully they can make room for other great Metallica songs like ‘Creeping Death’ and ‘Blackened.’ And maybe Trivium can release their own game which will be pretty much the same thing as the Metallica one, arf.